Wings of Fire Book One: The Dragonet Prophecy

By Tui T. Sutherland

Hi! Do you like prophecies? A prophecy is a prediction that a magical being makes. Well, a magical dragon, in this case, named Morrowseer made a prophecy. Three Sandwing princesses are in battle over who should be queen. He prophesies that one dragonet from each dragon species (the Sandwings, Mudwings, Skywings, Seawings, and Nightwings) born on the brightest night shall save the day. But, the Skywing egg is broken! So, they substitute it at the last minute with the Rainwing egg. (Rainwings and Icewings are the two dragon species not mentioned in the prophecy.) 

The five dragonets names are Clay (the Mudwing), Sunny (the Sandwing), Tsunami (the Seawing), Starflight (the Nightwing), and Glory (the Rainwing). They are taken care of by Kesler (a Skywing), Webs (a Seawing), and Dune (a Sandwing). One day, the dragonets get an idea to break out of their cave. When they do, the Skywings find them and torment them in an arena as they fight other dragons for Queen Scarlet’s own entertainment. Then, Clay is forced to fight a friend he had made, the unbeatable Peril. If anyone touched her scales, they would instantly burn! 

Will Clay and his friends survive? Will they be able to stop the war? Will they ever find their parents? As I always say, read the book to find out!

A few helpful things I like to say about the books I read:

“Run and Get Mom” (how I describe the scariness factor – zero being not scary at all and five being majorly scary): 3

3 Ghosts.png

“Yucky-Lovey Stuff” (how I describe the romance factor – zero having no yucky-lovey parts in it and five having major yucky-lovey parts): 1

1 Heart.png


I give this book 5 wands.
This was an amazing story that shows friendship is one of the most important things in life.